#### IOWA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION GUIDANCE

DEPARTAL DE LA CONTROL DE LA C

December 2021

# Criteria for Determination of Significant Disproportionality

### Identification

District must have a total of ten or more students enrolled with IEPs from the race/ethnicity in question and a risk ratio greater than or equal to 3.50 for any single year.

- for children with disabilities ages 3 through 21 for CEIS, and ages 5 and in kindergarten through 21 for Indicator B9.

## **Placement**

District must have a total of ten or more students enrolled with IEPs from the race/ethnicity in question, a total of ten or more students with IEPs of the race/ethnicity in question in the placement category in question, and a risk ratio greater than or equal to 3.50 for any racial/ethnic category for three consecutive years.

- for children with disabilities ages 6 through 21, inside a regular class less than 40 percent of the day for CEIS.
- for children with disabilities ages 6 through 21, inside separate schools and residential facilities, not including homebound or hospital settings, correctional facilities, or private schools for CEIS.

## Removals

District must have a total of ten or more students enrolled with IEPs from the race/ethnicity in question, a total of ten or more students with IEPs of the race/ethnicity in question for the removal type in question, and a risk ratio greater than or equal to 3.50 for any racial/ethnic category for a single year or three consecutive years depending on the measure, details below.

#### Single year of data

- for children with disabilities ages 3 through 21, cumulative suspensions and expulsions of more than 10 days for B4A and B4B.
- for children with disabilities ages 3 through 21, out-of-school suspensions and expulsions of more than 10 days for CEIS.
- for children with disabilities ages 3 through 21, in-school suspensions of more than 10 days for CEIS.

#### Three consecutive years of data

- for children with disabilities ages 3 through 21, out-of-school suspensions and expulsions of 10 days or fewer for CEIS.
- for children with disabilities ages 3 through 21, in-school suspensions of 10 days or fewer for CEIS.
- for children with disabilities ages 3 through 21, disciplinary removals in total, including in-school and out-of-school suspensions, expulsions, removals by school personnel to an interim alternative education setting, and removals by a hearing officer for CEIS.

Iowa Department of Education guidance should be viewed as advisory unless it's specifically authorized by state statute, according to Iowa Code section 256.9A as enacted by Senate File 475. This does not apply to administrative rules, declaratory orders, or materials required by federal law or courts.