
State of Iowa 

Out-Of-State OWI Documentation 
Return this form to: 

Iowa Department of Education 

Attn: Drinking Driver Education 

400 E 14th St 

Des Moines, IA 50319-0146 

Fax: 515-725-2014 

Email: OWIIowa@iowa.gov 

Iowa law requires that individuals cited for operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs 

complete a drinking driver education course and a substance abuse evaluation. In order for the State of Iowa to release 

the hold placed on your driving record, you will need to submit proof that you have completed the education and 

evaluation. This form should be submitted with documentation that shows a drinking driver education program 

and/or a substance abuse evaluation/treatment were completed outside of the State of Iowa. 

Complete this form and return it with all documentation noted below. There is an administrative fee of $37.50 for 

submitting documentation for drinking driver classes completed out of state. Payment in the form of a cashier’s check or 

money order should be made out to the Iowa Department of Education. You may also pay this fee with a credit/debit 

card at: https://stateofiowa.seamlessdocs.com/f/owiadmin There will be a $1.00 convenience fee for paying online. We 

are unable to accept personal checks. 

OWI OFFENDER INFORMATION 
Please print or type information below. Failure to provide requested  

information may delay the processing of your documents. 

First Name: ______________________________ Last Name ______________________________ MI: ______________ 

Date of Birth: (mm/dd/yyyy) ___________________________ Telephone #: ____________________________________ 

Email: _____________________________________ Street Address: _________________________________________ 

City: _________________________________ State: _______________________ Zip Code: ______________________ 

OWI REQUIREMENTS 
Submit a certificate or letter of completion from the education program which clearly specifies the name of the agency 

providing the education and its location, the number of hours of the course, and the date the course was completed. The 

course must be a state approved program and at least 8 hours in length. Treatment is not accepted in lieu of education. 

Note: Online classes are not accepted. 

Also provide documentation of a substance abuse evaluation/assessment which clearly specifies the date of the 

evaluation, the name of the evaluator/agency, the evaluator’s recommendation, the evaluator/agency’s location/telephone 

number. If the evaluation recommends treatment, documentation showing when and where the treatment was completed 

must also be submitted. 

Under penalty of perjury, I affirm that the information on this form is true and correct. 

Signature of Offender: ___________________________________________________ Date: _____________________ 

Submission Checklist – Make sure you have: 

 attached documentation in the form of a certificate or letter of completion for at least 8 hours of drinking driver 

education completed outside of Iowa.  

 attached a copy of your substance abuse evaluation, and provide documentation to show you have completed 

treatment IF the substance abuse evaluation recommended treatment. 

 payed $37.50 either electronically at https://stateofiowa.seamlessdocs.com/f/owiadmin or in the form of a money 

order made payable to the Iowa Department of Education. There will be a $1.00 convenience fee for paying 

online. 
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