OWI Offender Checklist

- ☐ Have you completed a course for drinking drivers? Did you report the completion of the course to the state and the court?
- ☐ Have you completed a substance abuse evaluation? Did you report the completion of the evaluation to the state and the court?
- ☐ Was it recommended you complete substance abuse treatment? If so, did you complete it, and was it reported to the state?
- ☐ Have you submitted your civil penalty payment to the Iowa Department of Transportation?
- ☐ Have you submitted your criminal fine to the court?
- ☐ Have you served your required jail time?
- ☐ You may be required to have an ignition interlock system installed in your vehicle, show proof that you have auto insurance liability coverage, participate in and comply with the 24/7 sobriety program, and/or provide proof of residency. Contact the Iowa Department of Transportation to verify.

Contact Information

Iowa Department of Transportation

Office of Driver Services P.O. Box 9204 Des Moines, IA 50306 515-244-9124

Email: ods@iowadot.us Fax: 515-239-1837

Website: lowadot.gov/mvd/ods/owi.html



Visit MyMVD -- Motor vehicle Information Online - Anytime!

mymvd.iowadot.gov/Account/Login

Iowa Department of Education

Drinking Driver Program 400 East 14th Street Des Moines, IA 50319

Fax: 515-725-2014

Email: owiiowa@iowa.gov

Website: OWI.educateiowa.gov



Information for Offenders of Iowa's OWI Law



It's the Law

It is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. Iowa Code 321J outlines the sanctions that can



be imposed on offenders. Iowa drivers who offend in another state will also be required to comply with the civil sanctions in Iowa.

Penalties

OWI offenders in Iowa face both criminal and civil penalties. The court determines what *criminal penalties* to impose on the offender. They often include, but are not limited to, jail time, fines, education, substance abuse evaluation, community service and restitution to victims. In some cases, the court may dismiss the case or not require the offender to satisfy any criminal requirements. State law specifies what *civil penalties* are imposed in order for the offender to reinstate their driver's license.

Driver's License Reinstatement

If your driver's license has been revoked for any OWI offense under lowa Code 321J (whether as a result of a court order or administrative action), the license may not be reinstated until you:

- Satisfy the revocation period.
- Pay a \$200 civil penalty.

- Present proof of completion of a state mandated drinking driver education course and completion of a state mandated substance abuse evaluation/treatment.
- Meet financial responsibility requirements.
- Comply with the interlock requirements, if applicable.
- Comply with the 24/7 sobriety program, if applicable.

Drinking Driver Course

lowa requires that individuals who offend in lowa or lowa drivers who offend in another state complete a course for drinking drivers. lowa utilizes the Prime for Life 12-hour curriculum. In some cases, the court may allow or require you to complete your jail time and drinking driver course in one program known as the 48-hour program or "weekend program." There are a number of locations in lowa that offer this program. For additional information visit:

http://owi.educateiowa.gov.

If you wish to take the drinking driver course in another state, please contact the lowa Department of Education for assistance. lowa **does not accept online** drinking driver courses.

There is a \$37.50 processing fee if you take the drinking driver course **outside of lowa**. This fee is not required if you take the course in lowa. There is a \$1.00 convenience fee for paying online. Payment may be made with a money order or online with a debit/credit card at: https://stateofiowa.seamlessdocs.com/f/owiadmin

Substance Abuse Evaluation

Individuals who offend in Iowa or Iowa drivers who offend in another state are required to complete a substance abuse evaluation performed by a state-licensed evaluator/facility **and** comply with recommendations. A listing of approved facilities in Iowa can be found at:

http://owi.educateiowa.gov

Email **OWIlowa@lowa.gov** for assistance in locating services in another state or complete the <u>Request Assistance Form.</u>

Documentation - Proof that you completed the requirements must be submitted to both the court and the state. If you offend in a state other than the state where you hold a license, you may be required to provide documentation to both states. Documentation does not automatically transfer from one entity or one state to another.

If you complete the drinking driver course and substance abuse evaluation/treatment requirements in lowa, your completion will be reported to lowa driver's license officials by the agency that provided the services to you. **You** are responsible for ensuring your documentation is sent to the clerk of court of the county in which you were arrested.

If you take the drinking driver course and/or evaluation/treatment outside of lowa, you are responsible for submitting the documentation to the lowa Department of Education for processing.